Spiral Mitten Pattern

This was a “wing it” pattern for me to get a pair of mittens done as a Christmas present for my sister in law (started Christmas morning!) This pattern is as accurate as I can make it for now, it may take some improvising with the twisted stitches, especially around the thumb gusset. If you have any questions, feel free to send me a message!

Spiral Mitts

Yarn: Noro Silver Thaw – used maybe 3/4 of the skein
Needles: US7 dpns

Pattern
CO 32 stitches, knit 1×1 ribbing for 2 inches.
Increase row: K4, make 1 repeat around (40 stitches on needles)
Knit 4 rounds even in twisted slip stitch pattern (see below) All remaining rounds will be in this pattern.

Thumb Gusset:
Place thumb where desired, easiest if you start increasing for the gusset on the backside of a spiral. Where spirals intersect the gusset, just re-start the spiral on the opposite side of the gusset…don’t continue spiral through the gusset.

  1. K1, place marker, make 1, place marker, knit to end of round
  2. Knit next round even.
  3. Knit to marker, slip marker, make 1, K1, make 1, slip marker, knit to end of round

Repeat rounds 2 & 3 until there are 9 stitches between markers, then knit even to bottom of thumb.
Next round: Knit to marker, remover marker, place 9 stitches on holder or spare yarn, remove marker, knit to end of round.

Knit even until mitten measures to top of pinkie finger, then begin decreasing by knitting 2 stitches together instead of 1 under the slipped stitch of the twist. Knit an even round between each decrease round. When there is only one stitch between the slipped stitches, K2 together around, then break yarn and thread through remaining stitches.

Thumb
Place 9 thumb stitches back on needles and pick up 6 stitches, for a total of 15 stitches. Knit around until thumb is length desired then K2 together around for 2 rounds, break yarn and thread through remaining stitches.

Weave in all ends and block.

Twisted slip stitch pattern
Left Mitten:

  1. K3, place 1 stitch on cable needle and hold to back, slip 1 purlwise from left needle, knit stitch on cable needle
  2. Knit around
  3. K2, place 1 stitch on cable needle and hold to back, slip 1 purlwise from left needle, knit stitch on cable needle, K1
  4. Knit around
  5. K1, place 1 stitch on cable needle and hold to back, slip 1 purlwise from left needle, knit stitch on cable needle, K2
  6. Knit around
  7. place 1 stitch on cable needle and hold to back, slip 1 purlwise from left needle, knit stitch on cable needle, K3
  8. Knit around

Right Mitten:

  1. Place 1 stitch on cable needle and hold to front of work, knit 1 stitch from left needle, slip stitch from cable needle purlwise, K3
  2. Knit around
  3. K1, Place 1 stitch on cable needle and hold to front of work, knit 1 stitch from left needle, slip stitch from cable needle purlwise, K2
  4. Knit around
  5. K2, Place 1 stitch on cable needle and hold to front of work, knit 1 stitch from left needle, slip stitch from cable needle purlwise, K1
  6. Knit around
  7. K3, Place 1 stitch on cable needle and hold to front of work, knit 1 stitch from left needle, slip stitch from cable needle purlwise
  8. Knit around

Errata:

The original post here omitted the even knit rounds in the twisted slip stitch pattern.  Sorry about that!  I’ve corrected it here.

14 responses

  1. Awsome mitt pattern!!

    you do beautiful spinning, I wish I was that good!

    January 12, 2009 at 11:48 am

  2. lynne papa

    Lovely pattern,beautiful yarn.Thank You so much for sharing the pattern.

    January 13, 2009 at 2:14 pm

  3. gerry

    I have three balls of this yarn, (Noro/Kureyon) in lovely shades of green and pink that I got at my knitting for charity group. I am going to try to make these mittens. Hope I don’t run into any trouble with the thumb!!

    January 25, 2009 at 12:53 pm

  4. !!!

    nice………….ㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠㅠ

    February 2, 2009 at 1:41 pm

  5. Whew! I started this pattern last night, but had the PDF version that didn’t have the knit around in between the slips… I love the pattern!!!

    Davey

    February 6, 2009 at 9:08 am

  6. beautiful… thank you for the pattern

    March 6, 2009 at 8:48 pm

  7. These are super neat! When I get brave enough to even look at DPN’s I might have to give this one a try! Thanks! 🙂

    October 18, 2009 at 10:31 am

  8. Pingback: Service Project Details « Minnesota Knitters’ Guild

  9. Whitney

    Im having a problem… Im working on the L mitten and I worked rows 1-8 as I assumed was meant to be done in “Knit 4 rounds even in twisted slip stitch pattern (see below) All remaining rounds will be in this pattern.” Now Im at the place of starting the row where the thumb gusset started but it seems that my twisted slip stitch pattern has shifted to the right one stitch. I redid the whole mitten up to that point thinking I may have miscounted my stitches but I am there again. The beginning of this round for me starts with the slip stitch so if I started the pattern again I am knitting the stitch I previously have slipped purlwise. Please help me? I really want to make these!

    August 9, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    • heknitsnspins

      I’m sorry I’m just now replying to this, the blog has lain dormant for quite a while. Two things that will hopefully help (if you still need it): 1) you should be starting the gusset on the 5th row of the twisted slip stitch pattern (not after 8 rows of it). 2) you can place the gusset wherever you want on the mitten, it doesn’t have to be the first stitch. The mitten is knit so that there is no right/wrong side or top of hand/palm side. It’s even all around so anywhere you put the thumb is fine. I recommended starting it on the backside of a spiral so that you have a couple plain stitches to work with before you come to another spiral. Hope that helps!

      February 2, 2011 at 12:50 pm

  10. bmoonbdragon

    I love this pattern…it was perfect for a beginner like me to understand how to make mittens then I will admit I changed it slighty to make my kids mittens…I gave credit though to you for an excellent patterm.

    October 30, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    • heknitsnspins

      Thanks, I’m glad you liked it!

      February 2, 2011 at 12:52 pm

  11. Melissa

    I love, love, love this pattern! I wanted to make something easy and pretty for a couple of solstice presents and these are fantastic! They introduced me to the relatively easy concept of cabling and have inspired me to move on to something much more involved like an Aran sweater. Thank you for putting this out there for everyone to see!

    January 28, 2013 at 10:32 am

    • heknitsnspins

      You’re very welcome, glad you liked the pattern!

      January 28, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Leave a comment