Happy New Year!

I’m a little late for a “happy new year” post but I was up at my aunt’s cabin in Maine all last week with no internet and really bad cell reception. It was actually pretty nice to be so secluded and out of reach for such an extended period of time. I always love being at the cabin for that reason…no thoughts of bills or work or worrying about keeping in touch with anyone. It’s the perfect excuse to be a hermit for a week!

The cabin is on Kezar Lake on Lovell, Maine and is right on the water with a spectacular view of the mountains, including Mt. Washington. I had my very first ice fishing experience with my brother and even caught a fish, albeit a small one.

100_1983

100_2003

100_2004

100_2009

I also got to ski one day at Sunday River, would have liked to get two days in but it wasn’t meant to be. Instead, I got to spend lots of quality time with my parents, brother, sister-in-law, nephew, and cousin…so it was a good trade off!

100_1997

Here’s the little guy helping daddy play Wii šŸ™‚
100_2006

All in all, it was a great new years. Hope you all had a great one as well! Here’s to a happy, healthy, prosperous 2009!!

To see more pics from the trip, check out my Flickr set here.

6 responses

  1. Nice new home you have over here at WordPress. WP is fantastic blogging software, and easy to use,
    And nice camo jacket. The colors of the fish would me a great yarn.

    January 6, 2009 at 8:33 pm

  2. Cynthia

    Sounds like a fabulous New Year’s getaway. Who cares if there are no phones or internet – at least you had the Wii !

    Nice fish…what is it, and was it tasty?

    chinders (from Ravelry)

    January 6, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    • heknitsnspins

      That’s right, the Wii was the only electronic entertainment necessary šŸ˜‰ The fish was a pickerel and a tad small to eat…not sure they are an edible fish or not. We generally catch and release.

      January 6, 2009 at 11:12 pm

  3. The black and white baby picture is so precious. There’s nothing like the peace on a sleeping baby’s face.

    January 7, 2009 at 4:01 am

  4. jeannettestgermain

    Your blog s the first one i like, because I share your interest in knitting. I’m new here at wordpress – it seems that at every blog they have a different method to get readers/friends. How is it done at wordpress? Thanks for getting back to me!
    lovely baby, by the way, cheers, jeannette

    January 18, 2009 at 3:38 am

    • heknitsnspins

      I’m pretty new to wordpress as well and must be honest, no idea what this site uses to attract readers. I think a lot of people who read mine come from Ravelry, my profile there has a link to my blog. Thanks for the kind words!

      January 20, 2009 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

