365:6

This morning, after only 4 hours of sleep, I canned my ass off! Rhinebeck is less than a week away so there was much to do. Today’s totals:

  • 1 quart and 4 pints of dill pickles
  • 8 half pints of lime marmalade
  • 9 half pints of apple butter
  • 7 pints of peach salsa

The apple butter and peach salsa are AMAZING! The marmalade is different, would probably be good on chicken or something, a bit too bitter for my taste. The pickles won’t be ready to eat for 4 weeks or so…I don’t have that kind of patience!

4 responses

  1. Geat day!!!

    October 11, 2011 at 8:18 am

  2. I’m jealous you are going to Rhinebeck. I’ve always wanted to go!

    October 11, 2011 at 11:36 am

    • heknitsnspins

      You must go someday, it’s amazing!

      October 12, 2011 at 1:09 pm

  3. Wow! That’s a lot to accomplish in one day!

    I learnt how to make jam back in my schooldays, probably in about 1969, but after living for the best part of 15 years in a house with a pear tree and an apple tree in the back garden, I decided that this year the birds weren’t going to get the crop.

    We have had some lovely pear crumble and I’ve also shared pears for eating. I tried apple crumble, but didn’t like it so much. I think the apple variety is Bramley Seedling and it’s definitely a sour variety. However, I’ve made some gorgeous apple chutney with the apples. The other main ingredients are onions and raisins, plus the obligatory brown sugar and cider vinegar. The apple chutney is ready about now, but I couldn’t wait and I’ve had a jar open for a couple of weeks!

    I’ve also made pear jam, which I haven’t opened yet. I suspect that it’s going to be very sweet and that a little will go a long way.

    I also made my first foray into jelly-making. It was supposed to be apple jelly, but I made pear jam and had pear peel and cores left over, so on the grounds of waste not want not, they went in with the whole chopped apples. They took longer to boil down to a puree than the apple did, but the mix of apple and pear in the resulting jelly is just lovely.

    I’ve got the final fruit from the crop awaiting my attention this weekend. Some will get peeled, cored and frozen. It’s my intention that the peel and cores will become more apple and pear jelly. I think I can do with a better supply…

    November 1, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Leave a Reply

