Autumn brings…

This year has been one of the first years I’ve actually appreciated, and even enjoyed, autumn. I think Rhinebeck and my complete and total obsession with all things wool has played a large part in this. This time of year means getting to wear all of my favorite handknit stuff…curling up in bed at night with the window open, all wrapped up in blankets…being able to spin and knit without sweatily sticking to whatever it is I’m working on…drinking hard cider…and so many other wonderful things.

This past Saturday I had some time to kill while visiting a friend of mine who lives in Charlestown, right on Bunker Hill, so I got to walk around for a bit and took some pictures. It was an absolutely beautiful New England fall day and the area is so pretty.

Charlestown Mosaic

I’ve also cast on my very first sweater! Rhinebeck, and all of the beautiful handknit items I witnessed while there, inspired me to venture something bigger. I’ve never knit finished a sweater, I have an awful case of knitting A.D.D. There’s several beginnings of sweaters lying around on my needles but none have made in very far. This time, I’m determined! And I’ve made pretty good progress so far. I’m knitting the Cobblestone Pullover ( ). I managed to get a good 8″ of the body done on Saturday before I gave in to the realization that it was going to be HUGE! And yes, I’m a bad knitter, I did not knit a gauge swatch, so it serves me right. I ripped and cast on again on Sunday with some smaller needles and am now back to about where I had left off.

Cobblestone Pullover
This is after casting on for the second time, I’m quite a bit further along than this

I know I’ll finish this sucker because I’m already really excited about wearing it out. The yarn is Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran Tweed and is gorgeous! It will be the perfect autumn sweater.

I also got a wonderful gift (from myself) Friday. I came home from work to find my new Golding Tsunami spindle waiting for me. I immediately pulled out some Hello Yarn fiber I had been saving for just such a special occasion, “Frosted Forest” in 50/50 Soy Silk/wool. One flick of this spindle and I knew I was in for a real treat! Words really can’t even describe how amazing this spindle is. It is the most perfectly weighted and balanced spindle I’ve ever had the joy to use…and it spins forfreakingever! Seriously, I have had to actually stop the spinning on several occasions because it was still going and I had no more room to spin. It’s truly incredible and the Tsunami, at only $39, is a STEAL!!! There are a lot of spindles out there that don’t even compare to this one for a quite a bit more money. If you’ve never tried a Golding, I guarantee it will change the way you feel about spindle spinning!

Golding Tsunami Spindle

Golding Tsunami Spindle

2 responses

  1. Faith

    That tweed looks perfect for the sweater! I’ve had gauge troubles too, and so what I do now is I swatch for a new project while I’m still enjoying an old one — that way I feel less impatient waiting overnight for the swatch to dry, etc., and I then have the joy of knowing (as long as my swatch doesn’t lie!) that all of my knitting is not in vain.

    Of course, then there’s the case of that one sweater that I just ripped out. Well, no one’s perfect. =)

    I keep looking at that Tsunami and wondering if I need one too. In purple. Ok, I’m clicking away now.

    October 28, 2008 at 1:02 pm

  2. David

    Tell me how it fits. I really like the design.
    as for swatching…i make a hat and wash it and dry it and measure gauge over 3 inches. it’s so worth the wait.

    January 29, 2009 at 2:33 pm

Leave a Reply

