Rhinebeck!

So, if you live under a rock and didn’t already know, the New York Sheep & Wool Festival in Rhinebeck was this past weekend. I decided fairly last minute that I would go, so of course all the hotels were booked, which meant I got to go camping! Usually not my first choice of fun ways to spend a weekend away, especially this time of year in New England (It was FREEZING!), but I survived and had a really good time!

If you’ve never been to the festival, it’s CRAZY! HUGE! CROWDED! And SOOOOO MUCH FIBER!!! It was heaven. Any fiber, yarn, tools, accessories you could ever imagine…beer…good food…great people…I can’t think of a better way to spend a weekend!

I got to meet some Spunquistadors in person…


Spunky Group

David flew all the way from Australia to go…


David and me

And I made it into the photo set on the front page of Ravelry!


I’m in the 3rd row down, center picture, spindling

Here is the actual photo…


Me spindling at the Ravelry party

I made a couple fantastic purchases while there, but I didn’t go crazy. I went in with some strict rules so as not to really go too nuts (because that would have been very easy!). I decided I would only buy something if I didn’t already have any of it and it was something I would have a hard time finding elsewhere. I knew ahead of time that finding some nice Cormo top was mission #1 and I was able to accomplish that mission day one, so I was pretty happy. I can never find any prepped Cormo top online, only raw fleece which I don’t have the time or interest for. After that, I really had no mission. I did end up buying some “Mystery Bump” roving thanks to a bunch of peer pressure 😉 Everyone else bought one so I had to. It’s 7 oz of dyed roving and apparently the color changes as you spin your way into the center of the bump. Should be pretty fun! Day 2 purchases included some of the most AMAZINGLY SOFT Superfine Merino/Angora/Cashmere blend top (60/20/20)…it’s so soft you can barely even feel it! I can’t wait to get working on that. Haven’t yet decided if I’m going to dye it or leave it white, I’m almost afraid to do anything with it! Last purchases was a metal swift, nothing too exciting, but something I’ve been needing.

So that’s it, it’s over, I can’t believe it. Already looking foward to next year!

One response

  1. amy

    *sigh* Next year, next year. I’m close enough to drive, for sure, but it’s fear of overwhelming crowds (and having to elbow people in the face for fiber) that has been putting me off.

    October 22, 2008 at 11:24 am

Leave a Reply

