Fall is in the air

The leaves are starting to turn, the air is getting crisp, and all around are images of autumn and Halloween. In all honesty, fall is not one of my favorite seasons. It always signals the end of summer, which I love, and the beginning of a very cold, gray, snowy/wet winter here in New England. But there are a lot of things I do love about fall…Sam Adams Oktoberfest is out, I get to pull out all my knitted stuff to wear/wrap up in, trips to Salem for a nice cup of hot cider, apple picking and the pies that follow, and this year as a first for me, the New York Sheep & Wool festival in Rhinebeck! A week from Friday I’ll be hopping in the car and driving out to Rhinebeck with my favorite traveling companion, Erin, for a weekend of camping, meeting my online fiber friends, and lots of woolly fun! I’m pretty darn excited…so much so that Autumn is turning into a season I may become fond of going foward 🙂

This fall also bestowed upon me an AMAZING batt, in a colorway appropriately named “Pumpkin Juice”, from Josette of Enchanted Knoll Farm. It is a blend of superwash Merino in wonderful golds, oranges, and purple with lots of sari silk strands and glitz. Each draft of this stuff uncovers heaps of little treasures and I am honestly in fiber heaven. If you ever get the chance, grab this fast, cuz it won’t stay in her shop long, especially not with me around!!

I also got a mad dash of knitting done this past Friday night/Saturday a.m. to get a birthday present completed for my friend Beth. I made Porom by Jared Flood, and I couldn’t be happier. It was a pretty fast and easy knit, and the finished product was wonderully woolly and slouchy and chic. Due to the rush I was in (I finished this thing with seconds to spare) I didn’t get a picture of it before gifting it so you’ll have to settle for a poorly lit picture of the hat in use by it’s recipient, who absolutely loved it, by the way 😉

Leave a Reply

