Returning to you…as an UNCLE!

Man oh man, the end of the summer was brutal, as is apparent by my lack of anything going on here. My summer class ended one week before my one and final fall semester class, so I will finally be graduating college in December, 12 years after I started šŸ˜‰

My brother and his wife had their first baby this past Thursday at 10:30 pm. JJ (Jarrod Jacob) was 6 lbs 4 oz and 18 3/4″ long. So I’m an uncle and very excited about it. He’s the cutest little bugger I’ve ever seen (I might be a little biased).

Some knitting and spinning has been happening, but not much. I finished Jarrod Flood’s Habitat last week and am completely in love with! And because it is getting very autumnal outside and was only 55 degrees F when I left the house this morning, it made it’s inaugural appearance in public today. I don’t want to take it off…ever.

Here it is partially done…I don’t have a finished picture yet, I’ll be sure to do that.

6 responses

  1. Libby

    Congrats to the new Uncle!! You are not biased – that is one cute newborn………

    September 24, 2008 at 10:40 pm

  2. AlisonH

    He’s adorable! And boy did that picture take me back: when my older son was born, the hospital put the exact same hat on him. Given that he’s 24 now, it’s kind of amazing to see again.

    Re the redwood: they’re very tall because that way their tops pierce the ocean fog, which condenses and runs down their trunks, providing plenty of water in an otherwise semi-arid climate. So they have very shallow roots. We get some freezing here, but not much and not long; dunno how Massachusetts temps would effect them.

    October 17, 2008 at 11:24 pm

  3. jeannettestgermain

    the grey (unfinished cable-thing – is that a hat? nice! i love cables.Knitting I do, when I’m not painting, but haven’t come to spinning yet. Isn’t it an expensive art? (because you don’t only need the wool, but the machinge (what is is called exactly?)) to spin the wool on. cheers, Jeannette

    January 18, 2009 at 3:29 am

    • heknitsnspins

      Spinning can be expensive, but doesn’t have to be. A spinning wheel will run you a couple hundred dollars up to a couple thousand, depending on which one you get. But you can also spin on a drop spindle which you can pick up for as low as $10-20. It’s a little slower than a wheel but just as effective to see if it’s something you enjoy. That’s how I started.

      January 20, 2009 at 10:47 am

  4. jeannettestgermain

    In my haste i forgot to say congrats with JJ – my hubby’s name is Jacob, so I am prejudiced (haha).
    Which (brand) drop spindle do you recommend? Also, which wool (to spin) do you recommend for a beginner?
    (I am allergic to 100% wool, so whenever I knit it’s cotton or a blend of acrylic, etc. with 25% wool in it)
    I am Dutch, so I learned knitting and crocheting in 2nd or 3rd grade in school. It’s something you never forget how to do – I started back up about 3 years ago šŸ™‚
    Since I live in California, there are probably not too many places that have these items.Please give me some adrresses or websites? There’s no rush getting back to me. Thanks for writing me back, and for all the info. – I appreciate it!
    jeannette

    January 20, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    • heknitsnspins

      Hmmm, allergic to all wool, huh? How about Alpaca? I know a lot of people who are allergic to wool don’t have the same allergy with camelid fibers (alpaca, camel, llama). If you are allergic to those as well and want to stick to other stuff, there is cotton, although that is fairly difficult to spin as it has a really short staple (length of fiber). You’d probably be good starting with tussah silk or bamboo. In the column on the right of my blog there are a list of some of my favorite shops so I’d recommend any of those. And as far as spindles go, my favorites are Golding and Greensleeves. The Greensleeves Barebones spindles is a good, cheap spindle to try things out on. Let me know if you have any other questions.

      January 20, 2009 at 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

