I live…

It’s been quite a while since I last posted anything so I thought I’d better stop in and give a little update on the past month or so. It’s been a busy one as I’m taking a summer class that meets for 3 hours twice a week after work. There’s light at the end of the tunnel though. 2 more weeks of that, then one class in the fall and I finally have my bachelor’s degree.

In non-knitting/spinning/dyeing news, my Redwood tree is doing spectacular! I’m just a little concerned about what to do with it over the winter, I gotta do some reading up.

Redwood

I bought this little guy back in the spring at the Massachusetts Horticultural Society’s Flower Show. If you’ve never been, it’s definitely worth checking out. I try to get there every year, there’s always a lot of great stuff to see and buy!

Ok, back to the fiber stuff. The Tour de Fleece is over and I only managed to finish one measly skein of yarn, pretty pathetic. I really should have learned by now not to sign on for these things as I know I’m just setting myself up for failure and disappointment. But I am pretty proud of that one skein I did actually finish. I spun up the “Illuminated” Wensleydale I had grabbed from Hello Yarn. Spun up laceweight, Navajo plied, 4 oz became about 440 yards. I was pretty psyched about the yardage.

illuminated 100_1510 Illuminated

I think this is definitely destined to become a pair of mittens! or two!

Lastly, I got a bunch of dyeing done this past weekend, most of which I am in total LOVE with! Especially that center one…”Carnivale” in 100% Romney combed top. I really fought with myself about keeping some for myself. Before the fight was over though, both bunches I had dyed were bought right out from under me. Oh well, guess I better get more dyed up!

Dyeing 8/2/08

6 responses

  1. amy

    Beautiful dye jobs! And great job on your navajo ply. I tried it and wanted to put my fist through a wall.

    August 6, 2008 at 12:42 pm

  2. Libby

    eeek! I wish hadn’t looked at your blog……. I am trying to resist the ‘spinning thing’, as I don’t have enough time to knit as it is let alone start a new hobby. and there you go tempting me, showing me all those gorgeous colours.. what a fabulous dye job I love the shades you’ve used. My fav is the bottom left – very autumnal.

    August 6, 2008 at 6:20 pm

  3. John

    Amy, thanks!

    Libby, don’t resist, it’s futile šŸ˜‰

    August 7, 2008 at 9:26 am

  4. String Bean

    Your yarn is gorgeous! The roving is pretty great, too. Wonderful colors.

    As for the Redwood: I’m guessing you have pretty chilly winters in MA (is that an understatement or what?) so you can cover your tree with a burlap bag when the snow starts to fall -or even a little bit before that when it just starts to get really cold- since your tree is so young. The snow makes a great insulator for plants/trees so if you bag it you don’t have to worry about it. I would set the tree under the eaves of your house to protect it from the worst of the cold (warmer next to the house). Have you though about buying your tree a larger pot? šŸ™‚

    August 10, 2008 at 7:29 am

  5. vkhsupport

    Oh good Lord!

    Now I want to try spinning as well! Just dont have the room. I would love to ease a project from conception to completion like that. Lucky begger! How long did it take you to learn?

    Much love
    Danielle jessica
    x

    January 17, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    • heknitsnspins

      Thanks Danielle Jessica! I’ve been spinning for a little over a year now and definitely still learning. I think it’s one of those things that you will always be learning and improving at. But it didn’t take very long at all to get good enough to create something usable. There are lots of resources online to learn. And if you start with a drop spindle, it doesn’t take much room at all!

      January 20, 2009 at 10:51 am

Leave a Reply

