An adventure in sewing

As if my list of time consuming hobbies wasn’t long enough, I signed up for a sewing class at The Stitch House to make an Amy Butler Sophia Bag. The instructor told me this was a hard one, and she was right! Well, it wasn’t so much hard as it was time consuming…lots of pieces to cut out…and that piping made things tricky. But I did it and the bag came out awesome! My sister was the lucky recipient and now my mom and friend want one. What have I done?!

Amy Butler - Sophia Bag

Amy Butler - Sophia Bag

Amy Butler - Sophia Bag

I had some fabric left over when I was done so I decided to whip up a spindle/sock knitting bag tonight. This was definitely more my speed…much easier! It’s a little too girly for me to use though so I put it up for sale in my Etsy shop. It’s the perfect size for a spindle and some fiber or a small knitting project to take on the road. The bottom is reinforced to stand up to the sharpest of spindle shaft and knitting needles. I’m really proud of both bags!

Spindle bag

Spindle bag

3 responses

  1. I love this bag…can I get one? Seriously!

    January 9, 2009 at 8:31 am

  2. Sorry for some reason there was a q at the end of my email when I entered it. I really do want one…think it would be a great way for me to carry around one knitting project at a time (unlike what I normally do.)

    January 9, 2009 at 8:32 am

    • heknitsnspins

      Thanks Susan! That thing was a pain in the @ss to make. I made it as part of a class I took with a friend at “The Stitch House” in Dorchester. They offer the class all the time, you should check it out, it’s pretty fun. And if you haven’t been to the store yet, you should, it’s a cool place. I’d say I’d make one for you but I still owe Jess one from months and months ago 😉

      January 9, 2009 at 10:31 am

Leave a Reply

