Some Spinning Progress

I’ve been spinning my brains out this week! I’m pretty proud of that fact as I usually don’t have the attention span to get much spinning done during the week after I get home from work. I received my fiber of the month from Spunky Eclectic, a lovely bump of 100% Wennsleydale wool dyed up in a colorway named “The Perfect Storm”.

Perfect Storm Roving

I’ve never spun Wennsleydale before, and this is why I love this club. Every month is usually a different fiber and an exclusive colorway not available to anyone else. I’ve been a member since December ’07 and so far have gotten Superwash Corriedale, Icelandic, South African Fine, Superwash Merino, and this Wennsleydale.

Here is is spun up:

Perfect Storm Yarn

It is 2 ply, about 16 wraps per inch, and 180 yards. I think I’ll be making mittens out of it, we’ll see.

And last night, I started spinning some Merino wool I had bought on Etsy a while ago in a great colorway of Black and turquoise. I’m calling it “Deep Sea”. No pictures of the spinning yet but this is the roving…

Deep Sea Roving

I love the way this is spinning up so far! I was considering Navajo plying this but the color runs are pretty short and I think it’ll look better as a barber pole 2 ply. I should hopefully get it done tonight.

Leave a Reply

